Illusions of the Past Come up Again – Ancient Canals that Aren’t


For the second time this week, I ran across an image on Google Images that was connected with ME, specifically.  You all won’t believe what a double take that does to you!  The first time was actually a photo of me, while I was looking up neolithic spirals in Acambaro, Mexico.  Then tonight I was looking up something called the Las Lunas stone, out in Arizona or someplace.  And there was this image:

Following the link took me to this:

Annunaki Hieroglyphics – New Jersey Coast”

This literally is something I put a lot of time into about a year and a half ago, and which I had laid to rest.  here is what I posted as a comment on that latter page:
I found your page here while looking for something entirely different.I see that this is posted back near the end of 2010. I will let you know that there has been considerable update to this ancient canal builders thinking.I was the number two man involved in this, along with John Jensen. I thought John had found something quite remarkable and was convinced for a while that there were no modern explanations for these canals and truly mysterious features along our shores, from Texas to Maine, no less.But one day while really researching as hard as I could for John, I thought that it would be interesting to call to a phone number connected with a photo of a location along the Chesapeake side of the Delmarva Peninsula. I got hold of a helpful woman in some Maryland governmental office. She told me that the features I was talking about were almost certainly “mosquito ditches.” She also said that New Jersey was the leader in mosquito ditches, dating back to about 1913, if I recall.

When I looked into “mosquito ditches” (Google it yourself), I found out that, yes, indeed, the states of New Jersey, New York, Maryland, had been very active in digging mosquito ditches along the coasts. You see, beach combing and such things wee as big back then as now, and mosquitoes were playing heck with the tourist trade. Tourism being a good way to bring money into the coffers, mosquito ditches were a good way of dealing with the biggest anti-tourist agencies of all: mosquito bites.

So, that took a lot of John’s canals out of the mix. Then I saw that there were canals even inland in Louisiana, and some of them went right up to and all around the home of my favorite hot sauce, Tabasco. Avery Island, the home of McIllhenny, has a web site which also happens to have an archivist listed. I emailed him, and he told me that the canals were for oil exploration back in the 1940s and 1950s mostly. They could not drill ay angles back then, so they had to keep moving their oil drilling rigs around. They put them on barges, and – so that they could cover as much ground as efficiently as possibly – they dug canals to assure that the barges had enough depth and space to be moved all around. There even was an Oscar-winning short film about it, made in about 1950.

So, there went the bulk of the Gulf coast canals. Modern, also.

That left those really weird squiggles between the mosquito ditches on the Atlantic coast. What could those possibly be? I learned two things in finding out what those were about. The first things is this: Google Earth satellite images can mislead the viewer a LOT. The second lesson was to learn all I ever wanted to know about animals around the coastal marshes. A good search through them eliminated all but a few possibles, and then looking closer at them I found out that muskrats make dens in marshes and they dig their own mini-canals leading to and from their dens. You see, muskrats swim much more efficiently than they waddle – and they know it. So, for them it is better to take the time to dig little mini-beaver-type channels to help in bringing building materials to their dens. Muskrats didn’t break out into the mosquito ditches very often because that would invite water creatures in, so they left a bit of ‘solid’ marsh ground between their little waterways and the ditches. Another of the ancient canals busted.

So, with three mostly separate real world explanations, the ancient canals hypothesis pretty much fell apart. I was loathe to disappoint John with the bad news, but I had no choice. It was a good exercise in checking anomalous features. It was also a hard lesson in having our eyes deceive us because of the limitations of Google Earth.

At the same time, John had only been on a couple of radio talk shows about this, and I an glad it didn’t go any farther. It would have been terrible to have someone on the outside bust us on this, for not having checked any of it out well enough. It was better for us to find the bad news out ourselves.

I REALLY thought that the aqua-culture I was ‘seeing’ was a terrific way to feed a civilization – ancient or modern. I thought the flow-through of the small canals was a wonderful way of bringing nutrients from rivers into the breeding grounds for fish and shellfish – and for crops on the small areas between the mini-canals. No fertilization would ever be necessary. It would even provide mini-barges/boats access for transporting the harvest to market, at minimal energy expenditure.

And, irony of ironies, one new academic paper suggests that the reason human brains started growing so big was because they settled down on coasts and started eating fish and shellfish and other very nutritious coastal foods.

So, if I am ever tasked with feeding a civilization well and efficiently, I will keep those coastal aqua-cultures in mind – even if they never existed before. They are a great idea!

P.S. On the muskrat dens, once I knew the ‘canals’ were mosquito ditches dug in the 20th century, and since the squiggles almost never broke out into the ditches, the squiggles HAD to be more modern than the mosquito ditches. Even if I had not found out about muskrats online, a visit would have cleared that up in a heartbeat. Probably half a million people or more would know about the muskrats and even more about the mosquito ditches. Sooner or later one of them would have pointed out what they were. I live a LONG way from the coast, and had not yet gotten to the point of a visit.One more thing:When they dug the mosquito ditches, they had left the lower end (toward the ocean) open, to allow the water to flow through. By 30-40 years later they had realized that they had changed the ecosystem; the old animals and plants were almost gone and were replaced by other ones. By then there were newer ways of dealing with the mosquitoes, so they closed up the lower ends to allow the marshes to return to their original sates as much as possible. The ditches’ lower ends being closed off threw me off. There was not ONE action by humans to account for their present state, but two.That is also a lesson: Don’t assume only a one-step process produced what one is seeing!
Steve Garcia
Formerly of ancientcanalbuilders.comDelete

hat the features I was tal

Leave a Reply

